Home » Minor Football » Minor Championship – FINAL – Match Report

Minor Championship – FINAL – Match Report

Eoghan Rua 1.08, Loup 2.16

A final quarter scoring surge from Loup ended Eoghan Rua’s hopes of capturing the Derry minor ‘B’ championship title at Celtic Park last Saturday afternoon. The lads were still very much in contention as they trailed the eventual winners by just three points, 1-10 to 1-7, going into that last quarter. However the south Derry side put in a storming finish to outscore Eoghan Rua 1-6 to 0-1 to run out winners on a score of 2-16 to 1-8. While Loup were fully deserving winners the margin of victory did not reflect the huge effort put in by our minors. It was only in that final quarter that Loup got on top and punished a wilting Eoghan Rua side that had lost influential midfielder Mark Donnelly with a dislocated shoulder following an innocuous challenge in the 51st minute. Over that closing period our defence failed to contain corner forwards Michael McVey and Jason Rocks as their pace and power contributed in some way to every one of the 1-6 that Loup hit in that winning sequence. McVey’s long ball in set up the second goal which put Loup six clear while he added two points himself. Meanwhile Rocks scored three points, two from frees and he earned the ‘45’that Terence O’Brien stroked over the bar in added time.

It had all started brightly enough for ER as they went two points up by the 6th minute with fine scores from half back Brendan McKillop and Daryl Wills. Loup began to exert their authority around the middle and rattled off four points in a row by the 19th minute, two from Terence O’Brien and one each from Barry Devlin and Jason Rocks. Loup also had a couple of wides and a shot well saved by goalkeeper Aidan Loughrey during that good spell. Good work by centre back Ruari Mooney and a fine finish from Paddy Mullan got ER back onto the scoreboard again but Loup then reeled off four unanswered points to lead 0-8 to 0-3 with half-time looming. Eoghan Rua really needed a goal to get back into the game and they looked to be on target in the 29th minute when Stephen Coyles was through one on one but his shot was well saved by Loup goalkeeper Niall McVey. A big chance gone but as the game moved into added time Brendan McKillop’s long ball inside found Paddy Mullan who did well to gather and make no mistake as he blasted to the net, it was just what the lads needed as they went into the break just two adrift 0-8 to 1-6.

Buoyed by that great finish to the half, Eoghan Rua started the second half very brightly scoring the first three points all  inside five minutes to re-take the lead. Stephen Coyles pointed from a close in free before Liam McGoldrick sent over from long range and then Brendan McKillop again got forward from half-back to point. It was looking good for ER even at this early stage but they were rocked by a Loup goal nine minutes in. A Loup attack seemed to have been dealt with but as the ball broke just outside the penalty area Terence O’Neill was first to pounce as he lashed the loose ball to the net, it really was a goal from nothing. Dangerous corner forward Rocks then briefly extended Loup’s lead to three before a Stephen Coyles point from a free brought the margin back to two, 1-9 to 1-7, going into the final quarter. At that stage the destiny of the championship trophy was still very much up for grabs. Loup then made their bid for glory and it began with a goal in the 48th minute when Michael McVey’s high ball into the ‘small square’ was palmed to the net by Stephen Murray. Further points from Jason Rocks opened up an eight point gap going into what was to prove an additional seven minutes of added time. Even though Stephen Coyles pulled a point back for Coleraine the damage had been done by that earlier scoring spree. With Eoghan Rua heads dropping Loup were rampant over the closing minutes adding four unanswered points to run out very deserving winners by the final whistle.

Eoghan Rua:Aidan Loughrey; Niall McMahon, Sean Frizelle, Fergus Kelly; Brendan McKillop, Ruari Mooney, Paul Roantree; Stephen Coyles, Mark Donnelly; Eoin McKillop, Sean Tosh, Ciaran Ferris; Paddy Mullan, Liam McGoldrick, Daryl Willis.

Substitutes used: Eoin Cunning for Ciaran Tosh, Ruari Quinn for Mark Donnelly.

Eoghan Rua scorers: Paddy Mullan (1-1), Stephen Coyles (0-3 frees), Brendan McKillop (0-2), Liam McGoldrick (0-1), Daryl Wills (0-1).


Loup: Niall McVey, Noel Doyle, Paddy Douglas, James Young; Michael Campbell, Damian Maguire, Mark Devlin; Barry Devlin, Jude O’Neill; Sean Rocks, Terence O’Brien, Ciaran Bradley; Michael McVey, Stephen Murray, Jason Rocks.

Loup scorers; Terence O’Brien (1-5, 0-1 free, 0-1 ‘45’), Jason Rocks (0-7, 0-3 frees), Stephen Murray (1-0), Michael McVey (0-2), Jude O’Neill (0-1), Barry Devlin (0-1).

© 2014 Eoghan Rua Cúil Raithin CLG