Home » Football, Minor Football » Minor Footballers – Derry League Champions 2012

Minor Footballers – Derry League Champions 2012

Congratulations to the Minor Footballers who won the Dery Minor Football ‘B’ League on Sunday.

The minor team triumphed over Loup at Swatragh with a score of Eoghan Rua 2:09 to Loup 0:13

Well done to all the lads and the management team.

Bottom left: Sean Frizelle receives the League Trophy from Derry County Board Representative, Brian Smith.


In a dramatic Derry Minor ‘B’ League final Eoghan Rua, Coleraine came from four points down going into added time against Loup to draw level sending the game into ten minutes each way extra time. Despite going behind again three minutes into the first period of extra time a Paddy Mullan goal just a minute later paved the way for a superb comeback win on a score of 2-9 to 0-13. This was a most entertaining encounter between two committed sides played in a very sporting of manner throughout at Swatragh last Sunday morning. Loup had beaten Eoghan Rua just over a month ago in the final of the Derry ‘B’ championship and were favourites to take a league and championship ‘double’. However the Eoghan Rua lads were determined to end their season on a high and that they did with a really gutsy performance.

The sides traded point for point over the first twenty minutes at 0-3 each before Loup finished the half strongly with two Jason Rocks points to lead 0-5 to 0-3 at the break. The sides exchanged points in the opening five minutes on the restart before a double strike from Terence O’Brien extended Loup’s lead to four 0-8 to 0-4 ten minutes in. Midway through the half a superb Ciaran Ferris point reduced the gap but corner forwards Jason Rocks and Michael McVey combined for the latter to point.  It was Coleraine’s turn to hit back and Ciaran Gaile reduced the gap to three again but when Ryan Doole edged Loup four clear three minutes from the end of normal time they seemed well placed to complete a championship and league title double. Then in the last minute of normal time Eoghan Rua were given a lifeline as a long range shot from Ciaran Ferris deceived Loup goalkeeper Niall McVey and trundled over the line. A point now separated the sides as the game entered the last of the three minutes of added time. Eoghan Rua had laid siege to the Loup rearguard in added time and their pressure was rewarded with a free 35 meter out but the angle was tough enough. Up stepped Ciaran Gaile knowing this was to be the last kick of the half and he unerringly split the posts to send the game into ten minutes each way of extra time.

Loup took just three minutes to take the lead again after Eoghan Rua goalkeeper Aidan Loughrey blocked a close range effort, Michael McVey hitting a ground shot over the bar. Just a minute later however the game changer arrived. A searing run from Ciaran Ferris set up Paddy Mullan for a chance close in and he made no mistake sliding his shot low to the corner of the Loup net, Eoghan Rua now ahead by two 2-7 to 0-11. That was pushed out to three just before the break as Ciaran Gaile pointed a free.

On the restart for the second period of extra time Terence O’Brien burst through the middle to point, two between the sides again. Eoghan Rua were looking the stronger side now and had a couple more chances to extend their advantage but in keeping with what had gone before it was Loup’s turn to come back, full back Padraig Devlin getting up to leave the minimum between the sides again just a minute from time. A replay was now looking a real possibility but Eoghan Rua pushed forward to earn a free that Liam McGoldrick sent over the bar for the insurance point, the final whistle sounding just seconds after. This was a really solid team performance by the Eoghan Rua side with substitutes Hal McGonigle and Ruari Quinn coming in to make telling contributions. The Eoghan Rua captain, Sean Frizelle, accepted the League trophy from Derry county board representative, Brian Smith.

Eoghan Rua: Aidan Loughrey; Paul Roantree, Ruari Mooney, Sean Tosh; Ciaran Tosh, Sean Frizelle, Brendan McKillop; Liam McGoldrick, Stephen Coyles; Paddy Mullan, Ciaran Ferris, Fergus Kelly; Niall McMahon, Eoin McKillop, Ciaran Gaile.

Substitutes used: Hal McGonigle for N McMahon (50), Ruari Quinn for S Coyles (56).

Eoghan Rua scorers: Paddy Mullan (1-1), Ciaran Ferris (1-1), Ciaran Gaile (0-5 frees), Eoin McKillop (0-1), Liam McGoldrick (0-1 free).

Loop: Niall McVey; Noel Doyle, Paddy Devlin, James Young; Michael Campbell, Daniel Maguire, Sean Rocks; Mark Devlin, Jude O’Neill; Conan Bradley, Terence O’Brien, Ryan Doole; Michael McVey, Kevin Murray, Jason Rocks.

Loup scorers: Jason Rocks (0-4, 0-3 frees), Terence O’Brien (0-5, 0-2 frees), Michael McVey (0-1), Ryan Doole (0-1), Michael McVey (0-1), Paddy Devlin (0-1).



© 2014 Eoghan Rua Cúil Raithin CLG