Home » Football, Ladies Football, Latest News » Historic Day for Eoghan Rua Senior Ladies Football

Historic Day for Eoghan Rua Senior Ladies Football

Senior Ladies v Glenariffe

The Eoghan Rua Senior Ladies Football team took to the field for the first time in the Club’s history on Sunday past in a challenge game with Oisin’s Glenariffe at a windy University playing pitch.

Playing with the aid of a breeze in the first half the Coleraine girls started well and points from Shauna Doherty and Pamela Sweeney opened up a lead for the Eoghan Rua girls. When Glenariffe got forward they were repelled by the defensive efforts of Anna Frizelle and Brenda Grant, who along with Orlagh Scullion and Sinead Boyle were time and again blocking out the Glenariffe attacks.

Orlagh Mullan was causing problems for the Glenariffe defence and when Sarah Moore found her range to add on 1.02 as well as a further brace from Shauna Doherty the Eoghan Rua girls finished the half leading 1.07 to no score.

The second half was a much more even affair. The Coleraine girls were now facing the breeze and while showing some great play to get the ball forward they were proving very wasteful in the final third. A number of wides were recorded as well as dropping the ball short on a few occasions.

A tally of 1.02 recorded by the visitors brought the match back to five points, but the defensive efforts of Niamh and Adelle Archibald along with Aoife Boorman, Aimee Tweed and Niamh Boorman kept the Glenariffe tally down and the Coleraine girls ran out winners 1.07 to 1.02.

Good for the girls to get a game and the newly formed team will no doubt face more testing challenges in the season ahead. Games like this will however stand to the team as they prepare for their first season in Senior competitive action.

Team: Aoife Kelly, Orlagh Scullion, Anna Frizelle, Denise McCullagh, Aimee Tweed, Brenda Grant, Francesca Watson, Niamh Archibald, Aoife Boorman, Shauna Doherty, Orlagh Mullan, Niamh Morrison, Alice Mooney, Pamela Sweeney, Sarah Moore. Subs – Sinead Boyle for Denise McCullagh, Adelle Archibald for Orlagh Scullion, Megan McWilliams for Sarah Moore, Anna Morrison for Pamela Sweeney, Niamh Boorman for Francesca Watson, Megan Kerr for Niamh Morrison , Denise McCullagh for Alice Mooney

© 2014 Eoghan Rua Cúil Raithin CLG