Owen Roe GAC/Eoghan Rua CLG founded in December 1956 when the first Club AGM was held.

Official office bearers elected as required by the rules of the GAA were Mr J Kearney Brolly Chairman.  Hugh Mullan, then aged 22 was elected Treasurer.

For the 1957 season the team joined Division 3 of the North Derry League as a junior club. League matches were 13 – a side while championship was 15 – a side.

Owen Roe continued to operate through the sixties, and seventies as a football club.  Although hurling had thrived in Coleraine in the forties with the John Mitchells Hurling Club winning two County senior championship titles, Gaelic football had also been played sporadically with a Coleraine Shamrocks team. With the founding of Owen Roe, there was a solid base on which to build.

During the nineties due to the efforts of Kevin Mullan, Sean McGoldrick, Vinty McMahon, Brian Daly and John Gaile, more extensive coaching structures were put in place at underage. In the early 2000’s following several years competing at underage level, adult teams fielded in Camogie and Hurling.

© 2014 Eoghan Rua Cúil Raithin CLG