All Ireland Winners 2010

Eoghan Rua 3-8 The Harps 2-3

Méabh McGoldrick lifts the Agnes O'Farrelly Cup on the Hogans steps.All-Ireland Intermediate Club Camogie Final

38-year old Grace McMullan was the hat-trick heroine for Eoghan Rua, Coleraine as they claimed a first ever All-Ireland Intermediate Club Camogie title at Croke Park yesterday.

McMullan’s first half goal brace gave her side a 2-5 to 1-2 interval lead, after The Harps had led by three points in the 20th minute.

The Laois and Leinster Champions were held scoreless during a 34 minute spell as Eoghan Rua capitalised to deliver their first All-Ireland crown, after delivering first successes in both Derry and Ulster on the way to yesterday’s win.

A 20th minute goal after a powerful strike from corner forward Joan Dollard gave the Harps a 1-2 to 0-2 lead at that stage.

Mick Bolger’s side were left to rue six first half wides as Eoghan Rua got on top.

The Derry outfit bagged 2-3 without reply before the break with Grainne McGoldrick clinical from placed balls, while McMullan smashed home two goals in first half injury time.

McGoldrick added two points on the restart, before The Harps were handed a lifeline following a 44th minute Ashling Phelan goal.

Injuries to midfielders Joanne Prior and Louise Mahony proved costly for the Harps in the final quarter, with McMullan completing her hat-trick in the 61st minute to seal the win.

After the game Eoghan Rua captain Meabh McGoldrick received the cup from Camogie Association President Joan O’Flynn.

Interview with Grainne McGoldrick

060311 Grainne McGoldrick

BBC News coverage of Eoghan Rua All Ireland Success March 2010

EOGHAN RUA: Aileen Moore, Aisling Carey, Kelly Maybin, Maureen Heneghan; Eliis McNamee, Meabh McGoldrick, Maria Mooney; Megan Kerr, Jane Carey; Maeve Dillon, Grainne McGoldrick (0-7, 6f), Sinead Boyle; Hannah Eastwood, Grace McMullan (3-1), Rosanna McAleese. Subs: Katie Mullan for Eastwood (39);Adele Archibald for McNamee (53).

THE HARPS: Teresa Bennett; Elaine Cuddy, Denise Quigley, Patricia Dunphy; Claire Walsh, Caitriona Phelan, Michelle Fitzpatrick; Louise Mahony (0-1), Joanne Prior; Aine Mahony (0-2, 2f), Angela Hanlon, Elaine Mahony; Joan Dollard (1-0), Ashling Phelan (1-0), Laura Saunders. Subs: Rosemarie Phelan for Saunders (39); Helen Keane for Prior (50); Bronagh Dunne for L Mahony (57).


© 2014 Eoghan Rua Cúil Raithin CLG